About Us


 The Rev. Jan Christensen, Pastor

Jan loves being a pastor! She began sensing a call to ministry in the spring of 2000, while working as a middle school counselor in Nebraska. The call came as quite a surprise and started her on a journey of discernment. Entering seminary a year later in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, she discovered God leading her into the PC (USA). Transferring to Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary, Jan graduated in December of 2004. Ordained a few months later, Jan served as interim associate pastor at First Presbyterian Church in Rapid City, South Dakota, In 2008, she answered at call to serve here.

“I think my favorite part of ministry is seeing God at work and having the privilege of joining in this work. Psalm 130: 7 has been an encouragement in ministry, reminding me of God’s great power and desire to redeem! I’m enjoying my time in Le Mars. Loving the congregation, sharing God’s work, practicing faith together and seeing signs of spiritual fruit has been a blessing! You can contact me via email.”


Jessica Johnson, Office Administrator
Tara Ladenthin, Accountant
Deb Thompson, Choir Director
Laurey Zwart, Organist
Shannon Jensen, Noah’s Ark Preschool Director/Teacher
Jennifer Moos, Noah’s Ark Preschool Assistant Teacher
April Jurgens, Custodial Staff


Session, Commissions, Deacons and Volunteers

The Presbyterian Church is a Representative Democracy governed by elders elected from and by the membership. Authority resides with the duly elected representatives of the membership in the appointed church governing bodies. The local church governing body is the Session. 

The Session of PUCC consists of twelve members, each serving a three-year term of office: Kevin Albers, Rob Bixenman, Karissa Carlson, Roger Dempster, Beth Kehrberg, Evelyn Kendall, Lowell Penning, Mike Cunningham, Linda Smith, Arlo Swalve & Deb Thompson. The clerk of the Session is Karissa Carlson, and the Session is moderated by the pastor. The work of the session is led by the Elders through five commissions:

Finance – Rob Bixenman- (Treasurer)
Christian Education – Shared Chair, Deb Thompson, Elder
Missions – Dennis Sohl, Chair, Evelyn Kendall, Elder
Worship – Audrey Scholten, Chair, Roger Dempster, Elder
Property and Maintenance – Lowell Penning and Dan Thompson, Co-Chairs, Kevin Albers, Elder

Noah’s Ark Board- Rachel Cunningham, Chair,  Sue Schneider, Elder

Deacons are elected to conduct the temporal and charitable ministry of the church. There are nine deacons, each serving for three years: Lon Penning, Cris Collins, Colleen Scholten, Dennis Smith,  Betty Athens, Bruce Brock, Kay Koch, Teresa Peters, Mary Bomgaars.

Volunteers from the congregation use their gifts by serving on various commissions and assisting the deacons.


Presbyterian Church (USA) Structure

Congregation – Parishioners share faith in Jesus Christ as Savior and Lord.

Session – Elders elected by the members and moderated by the pastor.

Presbytery – Elders and ministers from local congregations. PUCC is in the Presbytery of Prospect Hill.

Synod – Elders and ministers from area Presbyteries. The Presbytery of Prospect Hill is in the Synod of Lakes and Prairies.

General Assembly – Represents the unity of the synods, presbyteries, sessions, and congregations of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.).